Autumn Kitchen And A Recipe

Playing with my few pieces of thrifted brown transferware and vintage mustard crocks on a little shelf in our kitchen,

And small brown bottles on the window sill.

 

If it’s Autumn, it’s time to bake and that means scones.  Haven’t made these since last Spring so I actually had to look up my recipe.  I’d made them so often I knew it.  Now I’ll share it with you.  It originally came from allrecipes.com but I’ve made a few changes that have worked well for me.

 

Cranberry Scones

Makes 8

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour

4 teaspoons baking powder

5 tablespoons cold unsalted butter

5 tablespoons white sugar, plus more for sprinkling

2/3 cup whole milk

1/2 cup dried cranberries

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Lightly grease baking sheet or line with baking parchment.

2.  Sift flour and baking powder into a medium bowl.  Rub butter and sugar into flour to form a fine crumble.  Make a well in the center, and add milk and dried cranberries.  With floured hands, knead gently together.  Dough should be sticky.

3.  On a generously floured surface, roll out dough to 3/4 inch thickness. Use a juice glass (dipped in flour so the scones release easily) to stamp out rounded scones.  Transfer to the baking sheet.  If there is a lot of flour on the tops, use your fingers to lightly brush it away.  Sprinkle tops with a pinch of sugar.

4.  Bake in preheated oven until risen and lightly golden on top, about 12 to 15 minutes.  Remove to a rack to cool.

 

 

If there are any left over, store in an air-tight container.  I hope you enjoy these!

Published in: on October 13, 2010 at 6:10 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pkhandmade.wordpress.com/2010/10/13/autumn-kitchen-and-a-recipe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “These really are delicious” says my long term memory “but it could use a little refreshing.” Today I have to make brownies for a birthday party at choir tonight. Seems like I always end up with a lot of fattening foods around no matter how hard I try not to and they go right where I don’t want them to go; my tummy.

  2. That shelf looks really cute, and of course the scones look great!

    • Thanks for reading. Let me know if you try the scones. Hope you like them!


Leave a Reply

