Summer Canning

This is the result of a quick walk through my mother-in-law’s garden a couple weeks ago, 45 quarts of canned tomatoes, yellows and red.  In addtition, there is salsa, relish, strawberry sauce, and cider.  That’s a lot of jars.

Several years ago,she gave me a jam making lesson.  The strawberry jam we made was delicious and the company was fun, but my memory of the day was the heat.  It was very hot.  Isn’t it always like that when you have huge pots of water boiling on the stove and have to spend the next six hours in the kitchen?   Needless to say I’ve not undertaken any canning since.  I’ll leave that to the expert.

Oh, but we will be so happy come December to taste this summer garden!

Published in: on September 21, 2010 at 5:45 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pkhandmade.wordpress.com/2010/09/21/summer-canning/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s about the same memory I have about canning except I was too young to participate with all my aunts and cousins. But it seemed like they were having such a good time being together, it didn’t matter how hot it was. When I was old enough to do it,in high school, they no longer did it together because they each had families to look after and it lost its appeal to me.

    • Hi Mom!


Leave a Reply

