Garden Inspiration

A couple weeks ago, my mom, P and I took a birthday field trip to Blumen Gardens in Sycamore.  My mother-in-law introduced me to it seven or so years ago on a cold, drizzly late spring day just before P was born.  It was beautiful then, even on that raw day.  And this time rain was threatening.  That sort of makes everything more serene and calming in a riot of blooming things, when colors and birds and bugs (good bugs, of course) could take over.   And now, with the changes and additions it is just that much more inspiring.

I am a visual  girl (really, I worked for a large Chicago based department store doing visual display), and this place just gets it right every time.  I love the mix of vintage and new, found and repurposed items to highlight a vignette.  (Ever been to my house?)  Here, gorgeous blue hydrangeas and concrete hearts.

An old manufacturing plant with exposed brick and steel beams and huge expanses of glass serves as retail space as well as for special events.

Oh. My.  If only I had a wall that large in my home.

This space was new to me this year.  Imagine hosting an event here.

There were  billows of hydrangeas blooming everywhere in great cloud-like tufts,

and goldfinches all over these sunflowers.  I wish you could have seen and heard them.  Such sweet little chirps.

Perfectly weathered doors and more hydrangeas.

Can’t wait to visit this fall, my favorite season, when everything is golden and harvest-inspired.

Published in: on August 11, 2010 at 8:56 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pkhandmade.wordpress.com/2010/08/11/garden-inspiration/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. i grew up in dekalb and never knew about that place. i will have to get the address so we can take a drive out there.

  2. oooh…ahhhh… would like to do something similar on my huge, empty, staircase-wall.

    BEAUTIFUL!

  3. We’re so glad you enjoyed spending some time wandering around our gardens and buildings. It’s so nice to hear someone’s perspective who has an eye for design and composition. Please come back whenever you can — almost every Tuesday evening we update some new part of our shops and we’re always changing with the seasons.

    And, Michelle, we’re located at 403 Edward Street in Sycamore.

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

