Welcome Blue Sky

So good to see you friend.  I’ve missed you.  What, you ask,  have I been up to during these cold grey days of January?

Well,  firstly I have been “nursing” a broken arm which I acquired just as 2009 was being ushered out.  Yes, yes, I was ice skating with my daughter, watching that beautiful amazing moonrise and found myself face down on the ice.  I quickly popped up and tried to shake it off but knew something was not quite shakeable.  Spent the evening with an icepack and pillow and visited the doctor on Jan 1 who confirmed the break.  Since it is right at the bend of my elbow and because I am not a risk taking teen, the orthopede felt it best not to cast it.  Woo Hoo!  So that has meant no more skating (which I may have been tempted to do with a cast), or rock climbing, sledding, scone making, or shoveling(!).  It’s ok really but perhaps making melon balls (cateloupe in January, Yum!) last night was not a good idea, what with the twisting and all.

I have been reading a bit more, making lists of recipes to try, crafts to start.  Watched Julie and Julia on DVD,  (Love, love, love it!)  and a fair amount of ice skating on TV.  And yesterday I taught myself to crochet.  I can make a great bookmark, remember those twisty caterpillars from the ’70s?  I even have a ball of the same yarn with which my grandma first taught me all those years ago.    And I have recently become obsessed with the yarn aisle at the craft store.  Oh to crochet something with those beautiful variegated sock yarns!

Yes, yes.  I have plans for 2010.  How about you?

Published in: on January 28, 2010 at 11:38 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pkhandmade.wordpress.com/2010/01/28/welcome-blue-sky/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

