Christmas in Kaneville

Many, many thanks to everyone who visited my little crafty booth last Saturday at the village’s Christmas celebration.  In addition to the craft show, there was a wagon ride pulled by Belgian horses, a visit with Santa at the firehouse, cake walk, and a cookie sale at the church, which I understand, sold out very quickly.  Lots of handmade goodiness.

Everyone who visited was so kind and had many nice things to say about my booth.  Most often heard though, was that they had never seen anything like it at a craft show before.  I made some ornaments that had a definite and intentional vintage look.  One woman, of great-grandmotherly age, commented that they brought back memories of the lovely decorations she had on her tree as a child.  I think that was the nicest thing I’ve ever heard about my handmades.  Another vendor, who had the most delicious smelling handmade soaps, said she loved the look of my booth because it “made sense”, “the props and products all flowed to tell a story about the things I was selling.”  WOW!!  She got it!

I really needed to hear those things to confirm that this is what I want to do.  I just want to make things. I want to make things that people will use and love, that will bring back a memory and help create new ones.   So that’s my mini mission statement, which I hadn’t intended to write today but really that’s it in a nutshell.

Thanks for reading today.

Published in: on December 10, 2009 at 6:42 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pkhandmade.wordpress.com/2009/12/10/christmas-in-kaneville/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

