Pesto to Be !

And it be done.

Last Friday I took the day to make use of the abundance that our garden has suddenly decided to produce after much patient waiting.  After a couple days of warmth the basil looks like a shrub.  And since you know how I feel about the price of a few leaves of basil during the winter,  I decided to freeze some, simply pureed, frozen in ice cube trays and then wrapped individually in waxed paper.  Hopefully this will be just what my pizza needs in January to remind me of warmer days.  After all, my preferred toppings are simply garlic, tomato, mozz and basil.  Did the same freezing technique with pesto too.

Then I made tomato sauce.  Can’t give you a recipe or technique though because I used parts of recipes from several sources.   I think it turned out  the way I’d hoped.  Froze that too.  I really have never cared for commercial tomato sauces so I would be grateful if anyone has a homemade recipe they could share.

Basil

Published in: on September 25, 2009 at 8:51 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pkhandmade.wordpress.com/2009/09/25/pesto-to-be/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have been wanting to make pesto but my bsail has not been doing well. Over the last few weeks it started to turn yellow, I tried trimming it back to see if that would help. Yours looks so healthy! What is your secret?

    • Hi,

      Thanks for reading.

      No secret, lots of luck. That location gets about 8 hours of sunlight a day and is pretty well drained. Looks may be deceiving though. That basil “shrub” is actually three plants that have grown together. I’d like to make another batch of pesto before we get a surprise early frost.

      See the pretty little nasturtium plant in the left hand background? Grew those from seed (much luck there) and the leaves are now the size of desert plates. So very pretty.


Leave a Reply

