Vintage Quilt Pieces

A couple years ago I bought these five quilt stars at a garage sale for just a few dollars.  I suspect the fabrics used to make them are old, however I don’t know much about the vintage patterns.  And each time I get them out I think of a new use for them: pillows, table runner, sewn onto a skirt, framed or perhaps even a quilt.   They each have a charm of their own and I couldn’t choose a favorite one if I had to.  Sometimes I’m drawn to the pastel calicoes of the first and fourth stars.  Then upon another look I love the last one  that is mostly blue with the red stripes thrown in.  Then again the third star is lovely with that big red flower fabric and navy floral.  Reminds me of men’s ties.

Which one do you like?

.cloth_001

cloth_002

cloth_003

cloth_004

cloth_005

Published in: on September 23, 2009 at 8:40 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pkhandmade.wordpress.com/2009/09/23/vintage-quilt-pieces/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. i think they’d make gorgeous throw pillows..but i’d also wear them applique’d onto a skirt 😀

    ps i love your potting bench!

  2. Thanks for “Checking out” our site. For something as simple as a blog, it does require quite a bit of work. But it’s not too hard as long as you can keep up with it and make it interesting enough to have people look and come back. So thanks !!!!


Leave a Reply

