Elburn Days

http://www.elburnlions.com/Elburn_Lions_Elburn_Days_Page.htm

One of my favorite end-of-summer events is to attend Elburn Days.  While as a family we like to go to the carnival and see the animals, and new to me this year, watch the monster truck pull (YIKES!  just a few minutes please) my favorite part of the weekend are the city-wide garage sales.  This is a day my husband is usually happy to sit out and allow my Mother-in-law and I to explore together.  Since we went on a Friday, I wasn’t quite used to our daughter not being with me as she already started school.  All day I found myself reaching for her little hand as I got out of the car, crossed streets, and it just wasn’t there.  You see, she has been my constant companion and lunch date for six years and now she is in first grade.  (Have I said this before?)  I will get used to this.  Someday.

So a little garage sale-ing helped.  The town rumor was that someone had donated 8 truck loads of craft supplies to the church sale, so “go there first,” my Father-in-Law said, along with everyone else.  And yes I do believe there were 8 truck loads and it wasn’t terribly picked over yet.  Just about anything you could imagine in the world of craftiness, including plastic canvas,  was there and I could have spent three days looking.  I grabbed some vintage fabric, trims and appliques.  On my second trip around with the intention of picking up the rest of the box of appliques and some more trim, it was all gone.  All of it.   The picking didn’t take long.

Among other finds:  some handmade ceramic pendants, probably from the ’70s, a very cool copy of Treasure Island,  some vintage linens, old ironstone,  a Joan Walsh Anglund book ( I still have the ones my mom gave me when I was little), and more.

Just as we were leaving town, we swung into a barn sale.  I was drawn to the “free” boxes out front and found an assortment of old wedding decorations in various shades of discoloration.  The sales lady told me a can of spray paint would work to bring those pieces back but I told her they were perfect as is.  She laughed and said the last girl who took some said the same thing.  My favorite thing is the glittered wedding bell, yellowed and all.

IMG_1252

IMG_1245

Published in: on August 28, 2009 at 5:19 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pkhandmade.wordpress.com/2009/08/28/elburn-days/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

